Jiyeon’s Never Ever MV analysis

We can’t deny the fact that CCM is also known for producing not-so straight forward and very deep Music video if we spend some time understanding it.( Not to mention those spams of flashing lights leaving people into seizures MV).

There are quite a few intepretations that can be openly discuss and hopefully you guys can participate in this discussion^^

I will also share some of Queen’s analysis. So, without further a do let’s do this~

I will be analyzing both the MV and the lyrics and how they congruent and related to each other.Well first of all, here is the lyrics translated in English:~

Never ever ever never
Never ever ever never

Rain falls then the sun rises
The weather is just like my heart
I cry then I laugh, walk then I run
Disappearing like a dream
Rain falls then the sun rises
The weather is just like my heart
It’s cloudy then it’s clear, tears fall
Then I pretend I’m fine

I’m a nice girl, already wishing for your happiness
I wanna be with you
But I will pray for you baby

Never ever, I can’t give up on you
Never ever, I’m writing down each letter of your name
Never ever, don’t hide from me
Never ever, don’t leave me
I can’t breathe without you, not for 1 minute 1 second
Never ever ever never

I hope this is a dream when I close my eyes and open them
I pray and pray then I get tired and fall asleep
I keep having the same nightmare
I can’t escape from it
I hope this is a dream when I close my eyes and open them
I pray and pray then I get tired and fall asleep
Then it repeats again
Please just leave me alone

I’m a nice girl, already wishing for your happiness
I wanna be with you
But I will pray for you baby

Never ever, I can’t give up on you
Never ever, I’m writing down each letter of your name
Never ever, don’t hide from me
Never ever, don’t leave me
I can’t breathe without you, not for 1 minute 1 second

It’s foolish but you know I’m this kind of girl
So please, this is my last favor
If you ever run into me
Will you please smile at me, who can’t forget you?

Never ever, I can’t give up on you
Never ever, I’m writing down each letter of your name
Never ever, don’t hide from me
Never ever, don’t leave me
I can’t breathe without you, not for 1 minute 1 second

My interpretation   

“Never Ever” uses bright and dark concept. The bright part represents her imagination and the dark part of the video represents her true expression.

The first part of the video is showing the bright part , her imagination . Here, she is doing her daily everyday activity and everything seems to be relaxing, soothing and basically, perfect. In the first scene she is quite happy. At the same time, in the dark side, she is dancing with white outfit, seems be the indicator of her emotions.

jiyeon11

That “perfect” day repeats itself. Day after day had passed and she found out that all the things that she did has no meaning to it but she continues to pretend that everything is still as perfect. She keep on pretending up to a point her imagination goes haywire and become misplaced together with her painful memory/past (The White Man). Again, the day repeats itself, her feeling begins to mixed up and now then she realize that her inner child’s world begins to distort. This explains why her outfit changes every now and then in her reality world.

Another of that “perfect” day passes again, still keeps on pretending to the point that she is not aware of what on earth is going on. Things starts to rotten as to indicate that everything has a limit, things will go back to ‘normal’ as she cant keep on escaping her reality forever.

0JmRr9vQway5 (1)

As her imaginary world beginning to “rain”, shows that her imagination has completely distorted and the clock stopping indicates that her time is running out and she needs to get to her senses ASAP. The guy in black suit is her own true self and her true feeling.  This is to explain why her dances in the dark scene is more intense as her true self can’t stand keep her pretending and escaping her own problem. The guy in the black suit does not show his eyes yet she understands his message indicates that there is some form of communication between her inner child and her true self. Her true self wants her to leave her inner child and get on with life but she refuses and then cries, begging her to let her be.

Her feeling are fed up of her and leave her behind. As she requests, to let her be, in her own insecurity( The white room), Never Ever to get out from it, even for 1 min or 1  sec.

I dont know whether my interpretation makes sense or not but yeah, this is the symbolism that i’ve observed while watching the video ( Yeah, I’m a pessimist TT.TT)

There are a lot of possible observations in this video. These are some that I’ve seen in the MV comments. There must a lot though. Must be the hater downvoting -.-

“She’s mentally suffering through the trauma of an old love, someone she may have perhaps loved truly and deeply in the past. because he left her, she’s now in a mental health institution for going insane on his separation. she probably went through a heavy defense mechanism after, making her forget about him w/o being aware doing so until one day, he reappears in her memories. that’s why she’s so scared & confused at first when she first saw him in her subconscious state, a vulnerable & versatile condition. when she finally notices something’s wrong with her everyday routine (probably a routine played out in her head) with the dead flowers (a darkness in her unconsciousness; the sad recollections of her love), her resurfacing memories make her realize that she had lost the man she loved, causing her to “wake up” from her mind’s setup even though she’s still emotionally unstable. she probably still wants to find him & make him come back.”

“For me Jiyeon here in the MV is a patient in a mental health facility. All those “ideal” things she do in the first part of the MV are all illusions of a “perfect” daily life. The one with the creepy white blurry image I think is a doctor of some sort, everytime she sees the doctor at some point she goes back to reality and remembers the reason why she had mental illness and I think it was a heartbreak”.

“I believe the story is she’s mentally suffering through the trauma of an old love, someone she may have perhaps loved truly and deeply in the past. because he left her, she’s now in a mental health institution for going insane on his separation. she probably went through a heavy defense mechanism after, making her forget about him w/o being aware doing so until one day, he reappears in her memories. that’s why she’s so scared & confused at first when she first saw him in her subconscious state, a vulnerable & versatile condition. when she finally notices something’s wrong with her everyday routine (probably a routine played out in her head) with the dead flowers (a darkness in her unconsciousness; the sad recollections of her love), her resurfacing memories make her realize that she had lost the man she loved, causing her to “wake up” from her mind’s setup even though she’s still emotionally unstable. she probably still wants to find him & make him come back”.

“The man: Korean general public
Jiyeon: Solo singer who stays in a deteriorating house
The deteriorating house: Jiyeon’s psychological state.
The clock: The time is passing but nothing is getting better
Jiyeon sings that she can’t give up her love: She doesn’t want to give up her career and her fans.
A man haunts Jiyeon like nightmare: Public persecution for bully incident.
Scared and sad Jiyeon attempts to stay normal but as times goes by the broken house and flowers keep deteriorating: Her broken heart is consistently wounded by the anonymous hates from web and she is losing her ego. 
The man is leaving: Public turns away against Jiyeon but she has no idea what to do but just breaking tears and singing “Never ever give up. Never ever hide. Never ever leave me. I can’t breath a minute or a second without you”.

“The main plot is that she’s in love, continuously relives this ideal/fake life where everything is alright (the ‘bright’ days where she’s in her home and kitchen). Yet, the reality is that she’s aggressive and obsessed over the guy she loves and her true self is dark and in a bad place (the dark scenes of the MV, the wall/water scenes).Eventually she faces the guy (or what the reality of what actually happened), cries, and still clings on to him but she’s still batshit crazy about it.That’s when we realize she’s in a mental hospital at the end and she’s reliving this stuff over and over in her head. She never, EVER wants to let him leave”.

When she said that she wanted to be praise due to her hard work, she really DO put in enormous amount of effort in her debut. Although we have seen her in a few concepts but didn’t really see her in a sexy concept. To be honest, she does really well in sexy concept^^. Unfortunately, people are bashing her due the dancing is being exaggerated. I mean, there are quite a number of groups that has excessively “sexual” dance concept (Won’t bring up groups here, but you know what i mean right?) . I don’t see why there are lots of hateful comments, well apart from the..K-nets.

So that’s all I have for now~ Continue to support Jiyeon and T-ara^^

Here’s the Choreo Ver. of  “Never Ever” ( I find it more sexy than the MV XD )

Also, her Fanchant ~

 

So, what are you guy’s after thoughts of this MV? We can share different opinions although this is just for the fun of it. It’s interesting that this MV has a very deep meaning to it. It is just quite rare in the music industry

-Jiyeonista’

 

Leave a comment